Hand Muscles

May 9, 2022 | Group

Inside the hand there are nineteen muscles. Seven form the two fleshy regions visible in the palm of the hand at the base of the I and V finger, called respectively thenar eminence and hypothenar eminence.
They are divided in three regions:

  • In the intermetacarpal spaces there are the interossei muscles, divided into a Palmar Interossei – Hand, composed by three or four muscles, and in a Dorsal Interossei – Hand, composed by four muscles. The four Lumbricals – Hand muscles complete this group.
  • The muscles of the thenar eminence are the [[abdpobre]], the Abductor Pollicis Brevis and the Opponens Pollicis; more deeply there is a fourth muscle, the Adductor Pollicis.
  • The muscles of the hypothenar eminence are the Palmaris Brevis, the Abductor Digiti Minimi – Hand, the Flexor Digiti Minimi Brevis – Hand and the Opponens Digiti Minimi – Hand.

Discover more

This is a part of the article you can find in Knowlative WebApp. To see the full content of the article click the link below and enter the app.
Not subscribed yet? Discover more on our WebApp.