May 31, 2022 | Vocabulary

Muscles are divided into 3 main types:

  • Skeletal/Striated/Voluntary Muscle: all muscles anchored to bones and aponeuroses and used for locomotion and maintaining posture. Posture is generally maintained as an unconscious reflex, but all skeletal muscles react to conscious control (Picture 1: a).
  • Smooth muscle or “involuntary”: it is found in the walls of organs and structures. It is not under conscious control (Picture 1: b).
  • Cardiac muscle: it is not under conscious control but its structure is more similar to the striated/voluntary muscle (Picture 1: c).

Discover more

This is a part of the article you can find in Knowlative WebApp. To see the full content of the article click the link below and enter the app.
Not subscribed yet? Discover more on our WebApp.