Muscles of the Foot

May 11, 2022 | Group

The dorsal region is occupied by the Extensor Hallucis Brevis and the Extensor Digitorum Brevis – Foot.

The muscles of the sole of the foot can be divided into four layers (from superficial to deep):

  • First layer— Abductor Hallucis, Flexor Digitorum Brevis – Foot, Abductor Digiti Minimi – Foot;
  • Second layer—Quadratus Plantae, Lumbricals – Foot (tendons of Flexor Hallucis Longus and Flexor Digitorum Longus – Foot pass through this layer)
  • Third layer—Flexor Hallucis Brevis, Abductor Hallucis, Flexor Digiti Minimi Brevis – Foot;
  • Fourth layer—Dorsal Interossei – Foot and Plantar Interossei – Foot (tendons of Tibialis Posterior and Peroneus Longus (Fibularis Longus) pass through this layer).

Discover more

This is a part of the article you can find in Knowlative WebApp. To see the full content of the article click the link below and enter the app.
Not subscribed yet? Discover more on our WebApp.