The femur is completely covered by muscles, many of which are biarticular because they originate from the hip and are inserted on the tibia or fibula, exerting their action both on the coxofemoral joint and on the knee. 
They are divided into three groups:

  • anterior muscles, which include Tensor fasciae latae – Fascia lata, Sartorius, Quadriceps and Articularis Genu (Articular muscle of the Knee) (considered by many authors a part of the Quadriceps);
  • medial muscles, which include the muscles Adductor Longus, Adductor Brevis, Adductor Magnus, Pectineus and Gracilis;
  • posterior muscles, which include the Biceps Femoris, Semimembranosus and Semitendinosus, also called Hamstrings – Group description due to their common origin at the level of the ischial tuberosity.