The bones of the foot are divided into three groups. The anterior group, the toes, contain 14 small bones, each of which is a phalanx bone of the foot.
 The phalanx bones (phalanges) are arranged in a similar manner as the phalanges of the fingers (Picture 1).
The toes are numbered 1–5, starting with the big toe (hallux).
The big toe has two phalanx bones, the proximal and distal phalanges.
The remaining toes all have proximal, middle, and distal phalanges.
A joint between adjacent phalanx bones is called an interphalangeal joint