In kinesiology each meridian is associated with one or more muscles. For example, the central meridian is associated with the supraspinatus. The spleen meridian is associated with five muscles: latissimus dorsi, lower trapezius, middle trapezius, opponens pollicis longus and triceps. Each of the basic fourteen muscles used in specialized kinesiology is related to a meridian, so in testing the muscle you are also accessing information about that meridian:

Basic Fourteen Muscles    Meridian
Supraspinatus    CV (Conception Vessel – Ren Mai)
Teres Major    GV (Governing Vessel – Du Mai)
Pectoralis Major – Clavicular head    ST (Stomach Channel – Zu Yang Ming)
Latissimus Dorsi    SP (Spleen Channel – Zu Tai Yin)
Subscapularis    HT (Heart Channel – Shou Shao Yin)
Quadriceps    SI (Small Intestine Channel – Shou Tai Yang)
Peroneus Tertius    BL (Bladder Channel – Zu Tai Yang)
Psoas Major    KI (Kidney Channel – Zu Shao Yin)
Gluteus Medius    PC (Pericardium Channel – Shou Jue Yin)
Teres Minor    TH (Triple Heater Channel – Shou Shao Yang)
Deltoid – Anterior part    GB (Gallbladder Meridian – Zu Shao Yang)
Pectoralis Major – Sternal Head    LR (Liver Channel – Zu Jue Yin)
Anterior Serratus    LU (Lung Channel – Shou Tai Yin)
Tensor fasciae latae – Fascia lata    LI (Large Intestine Channel – Shou Yang Ming)

Acupuncturists feel pulses to establish which meridians are out of balance, whereas kinesiologists use muscle testing, working with the meridian-muscle connection to establish which meridians need attention. So, for example, if the psoas muscle unlocks when muscle tested, it means (among other things) that there is likely to be an imbalance in the kidney meridian.

Testing all the 14 muscles (bilaterally) gives a good “picture” of what is going on in the meridians. The assessing and correction of these muscles is the “core” procedure of Touch for Health.